How not to install sculpture on a windy seafront!

I have  installed my mosaic on Teignmouth sea front (as part of the Trail outdoor art exhibition); having finally secured the 120cm square monster to the top of my car (with an old washing line)  I had to drive through first very heavy rain, then hail and finally thick fog, before dodging the elderly pedestrians on the pedestrianised  seafront. My long suffering husband and Liz the exhibition co-ordinator had to do most of the heavy work as I had both my babies with me, as the oldest was too ill to go to pre-school.  Needless to say the baby cried throughout and my 3 year old was very vocally bored with the whole situation and quite poorly.

I had to do a bit of touching up after we had bashed the hell out of it to get it securely in the ground, which gave me the unusual experience of being there when all the many passers by stopped to look at it.  This was a much more pleasant experience than I was expecting and I had a good chat with lots of people, all of whom were positive about my work and the exhibition as a whole. One confused old gent wanted to know what I was putting up an advert for!

I have been given an excellent spot right next to the pier and it can be seen from right the other side of the Den (big seaside park/green) and I think it looks fantastic with the sea behind it and hopefully when the sun is shining it will really sparkle and shimmer.

However, the sun is not shining. I woke up at 5 am to the sound of our bin being blown over in gale force winds and I had a classic anxiety dream about trying to catch all the tiles off my mosaic as they blew off the wind. I had to get my friend who lives nearby to go and check it was still standing. So far it is……….phew!

The grand opening is on Monday 20th July at 11am, so if you are around, please come down the the Ness Hotel in Shaldon.

0 Responses to “How not to install sculpture on a windy seafront!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I am a stained glass artist working in Exeter and a busy mum of 2; trying to carve a path through the tide of washing and children's toys that stands between me and making beautiful things.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Folksy

Etsy mini store

Flickr Photos

Crocheted Squid

green man roundel

fused recycled glass slab with fern painted detail

burst of spring

Jewel Coloured Nautilus_fused glass_bathroom_window

Cemetry Lodge outside

arch window with red tree

mountain sunrise study view

Wishing tree after 3 weeks

Torquay wishing tree sculpture

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Bottle Top Rock Pools

small recycled stained glass heart

Large recycled stained glass hearts

Mixed Media Mosaics using waste glass and old costume jewelery

boats in the harbor

Moroccan Panel

Brays Torr from the River lydd

art deco fish

paperblog

July 2009
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

