Work in Progress, cutting and leading

I am trying to document every stage of my current commission and now the final designs have been chosen and final drawings done I have been getting on with making them. I am doing the 2 side windows first, which are made up of 2 halves (so 4 panels in total)

Here are some photos moving from cutting, to leading, to the soldered panels, waiting to be cemented. The cutting has been made more accurate and easier for me on this commission as I have just brought my self my first grinder, which allows me to get a much better finish to my glass cuts and gives me more ability to manipulate the glass.

3 Responses to “Work in Progress, cutting and leading”


  1. 1 thesockgarden March 7, 2010 at 12.48

    Ooh this is interesting. Seeing those numbered sections reminds of the ‘paint by numbers’ kits when I was little! Do you have corresponding numbered/coloured cut out pieces?

    • 2 amyorangejuice March 7, 2010 at 12.48

      I number the shapes and the corresponding piece of glass so i can put them all back on the right place and I dont get in a muddle. sometimes there are 10’s of pieces of quite similar shapes of glass. It is a bit like painting by numbers. Thanks for taking a look x

  2. 3 lose weight December 3, 2010 at 12.48

    Thanks buddy. Good article you have here. Have some extra sites to direct to with more stuff like this?


Leave a Reply

I am a stained glass artist working in Exeter and a busy mum of 2; trying to carve a path through the tide of washing and children's toys that stands between me and making beautiful things.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Folksy

Etsy mini store

Flickr Photos

Twitter Updates

Bottle Top Rock Pools

small recycled stained glass heart

Large recycled stained glass hearts

Mixed Media Mosaics using waste glass and old costume jewelery

boats in the harbor

Moroccan Panel

Brays Torr from the River lydd

art deco fish

paperblog

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

