Launching my mobile range with new photos!

I make a wide range of mobiles and window decorations (from 1 small boat and affordable items for craft fairs and Folksy) to huge ones with 50 boats plus for art exhibitions.

All my mobiles are made with recycled waste stained glass and no 2 boats are ever the same, because they are all made from ‘found’ pieces of glass. I have a complicated grading system for waste glass (from bunting size, to heart size and downwards to mosaic tiles) and I have a large box of ‘boat sized’ waste glass (I think I may be a little obsessive!). I match the pieces together until I find a good boat shape and then copper foil and solder the pieces together in batches of around 25. I then divide the group into smaller subgroups of boats that work well together and turn each little group into a mobile, with contrasting beads and driftwood. Reading that back, I might sound a bit of a loon! That’s my creative process for you!

Although they have always looked beautiful in the sunlight, but I have always really struggled to photograph them successfully, now I think I may have cracked it!
I am very pleased with how these collage photos have turned out and I hope you like them too!They are for sale on my Folksy shop or on Zibbet, for those who prefer to pay in dollars!

1 Response to “Launching my mobile range with new photos!”


  1. 1 thesockgarden April 21, 2010 at 12.48

    Your new pics are looking great – it’s nice to see the items both hanging and laid flat. The ones you did against the fence were nice too where you could see the coloured glass reflections. Love the idea of your Boat-Bit-Box – it’s back to the jigsaw puzzle theme again – fitting all the pieces together!


Leave a Reply

I am a stained glass artist working in Exeter and a busy mum of 2; trying to carve a path through the tide of washing and children's toys that stands between me and making beautiful things.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Folksy

Etsy mini store

Flickr Photos

Twitter Updates

Bottle Top Rock Pools

small recycled stained glass heart

Large recycled stained glass hearts

Mixed Media Mosaics using waste glass and old costume jewelery

boats in the harbor

Moroccan Panel

Brays Torr from the River lydd

art deco fish

paperblog

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

