Heart production line

The past week has been largely spent making hearts for a shop order. It is quite a big order and it is quite unusual for me to do such a large production run. I cut 30 small hearts and 20 large hearts (170 pieces in total) from recycled glass and each one is a different colour combination and unique and I spent several of evenings in front of the TV wrapping the copper foil tape around the edges of the cut pieces and burnishing them flat. I also got a really nasty blister on my thumb from all the cutting (you have to press reasonably hard. I have ran out of copper foil, so the small hearts will have to wait till the middle of the week. Which is no bad thing as I was getting a little bored!

Today I soldered the 4 pieces of the large hearts together with a soldering iron and added a piece of wire for the hanging. Each one takes about 10 minutes to solder. They are then washed and polished and tonight I will add beads and silky thread for 10 of them. The other 10 will be hung with 2 smaller hearts for my bigger heart hangings.  But I think that is enough heart surgery for 1 day!

0 Responses to “Heart production line”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I am a stained glass artist working in Exeter and a busy mum of 2; trying to carve a path through the tide of washing and children's toys that stands between me and making beautiful things.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Folksy

Etsy mini store

Flickr Photos

Twitter Updates

Bottle Top Rock Pools

small recycled stained glass heart

Large recycled stained glass hearts

Mixed Media Mosaics using waste glass and old costume jewelery

boats in the harbor

Moroccan Panel

Brays Torr from the River lydd

art deco fish

paperblog

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

