Being a busy, busy bee, commissions and empty milk cartons and me!

I have been so busy my blog has become quite neglected!

I have a new recycled public art commission, making a sculpture out of empty milk cartons for Dairy Crest, this will be displayed in a Morrissons supermarket and  they are delivering me 300 + empty cartons soon! This is part of their promotion for the new Jugit system, which is intended to reduce the waste from milk cartons by 75% . Here is a rough drawing, but the full effect wont be realised  till I have it in 3D!

I have 2 new commissions, one for a lovely family in Scotland making a mountain scene and another making panels for the grooms gifts for a wedding, 2 lily panels and a train! Both of these commissions will let me use my new toy, I mean tool. I have finally saved up for a really good quality engraving pen and I have been practicing with it. I am very excited about the detail I will now be able to add to my work and it will allow me to personalise items more professionally too.

Craft fair season is in full swing and the Hand Made Home fair in Exeter this weekend was a great success, I sold 25 of my brooches!!! and many other things, thanks everyone who came and supported it!

This Sunday I will be at the Heart of Devon Show, in Bow outside Crediton, so please pop along if you are in the area.

For the rest of the week I am making stock to replace all the stuff I sold last weekend and my Folksy shop has been busy, so there have been lots of trips to the post office!  Its busy, busy, busy, just how I like it!

OH and my new Indie Smiles article was published yesterday, writer with the most comments wins a prize, so please go read it and comment away!

4 Responses to “Being a busy, busy bee, commissions and empty milk cartons and me!”


  1. 1 Flora May 26, 2010 at 12.48

    Ooh, engraving pen, I’ve been thinking about getting one of those – would love to know how you’re getting on with it.

    Sounds busy!

  2. 2 Sarah May 26, 2010 at 12.48

    I use the new jugit system and its fantastic, so easy etc! I know your sculpture will be great, well done with the commission. Miss Exeter loads, wish we could move back down that way, maybe one day……

  3. 3 thesockgarden May 26, 2010 at 12.48

    OK, you’re forgiven! Looks like the ‘too busy to blog’ excuse is true! Looking forward to watching the progress on the milk carton project. Well done on all the craft fair successes too. 🙂

  4. 4 amyorangejuice May 26, 2010 at 12.48

    Hi guys,
    Flora it is fab I love new tools! but it makes quite a jarring noise! much more so than my grinder. Its great cos I dont have easy access to a kiln, so I can put more detail and pattern in without painting it and I like using flashed glass too. But I can only make thin lines so far and I want to make thicker ones!also want to experiment with combining it with acid etching, I haven’t found my own style with it yet, if you know what I mean.
    Who knows when the milk cartons will turn up!
    I haven’t started my summer TRAIL scupture yet either, I really need to get on with that!


Leave a Reply

I am a stained glass artist working in Exeter and a busy mum of 2; trying to carve a path through the tide of washing and children's toys that stands between me and making beautiful things.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Folksy

Etsy mini store

Flickr Photos

Twitter Updates

Bottle Top Rock Pools

small recycled stained glass heart

Large recycled stained glass hearts

Mixed Media Mosaics using waste glass and old costume jewelery

boats in the harbor

Moroccan Panel

Brays Torr from the River lydd

art deco fish

paperblog

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

