Launched my boat!

Despite a wild night I got my sculpture up last night, in its spot, just to the left of Teignmouth Pier. It was a truly wild night for weather, lashing rain and gales and I had to really battle with the elements. However, it was still there when I went to finish it off today and I have got the Kaleidoscope in place too, so I really have completely installed it! The clouds broke for a brief moment for me to take a couple of photos……….more bad weather on the way tonight, fingers crossed it lasts the summer!

My sculpture is part of the TRAIL summer exhibition, this is a free sculpture trail running from Teignmouth to Dawlish (South Devon) seafront for the whole summer! All the sculptures are made of at least 70% recycled materials and it is a great day out for all the family, especially keeping the kids walking with interesting things to look at!  You can also vote for your favourite installation and there is a a prize for the public vote!

Lets just hope no one tries to take it for its virgin trip, it is very heavy and has 2 wholes in the bottom and is totally rudderless! I got some very strange looks from the surfers riding the massive waves last night and even stranger ones from the elderly people walking their dogs this morning!

9 Responses to “Launched my boat!”


  1. 1 Jane Eccles July 16, 2010 at 12.48

    really wonderful – well done !

  2. 2 Di - Adiencrafts July 16, 2010 at 12.48

    Woweeeee! I’ve been so looking forward to seeing the finished piece, it is just outstanding – I love it!!!

  3. 3 Lisa Hafey July 16, 2010 at 12.48

    That is totally awesome and gorgeous, and makes me want to go to Devon, JUST so I can say, “Oh, I know the lady who made that”!

    You know, I just might!

  4. 5 Shaz July 16, 2010 at 12.48

    You are one clever lady! It looks amazing Amy – you must be so pleased with it. You’re surely gonna win. (Well done to Daddy Orange Juice too of course!) Shaz x

  5. 6 amyorangejuice July 16, 2010 at 12.48

    wow thank you everyone! Its funny making art, you get so sick of being with something you just want the deadline to come and you forget its a nice thing which people will like to see! so you have cheered me up! xx

  6. 7 averilpam July 16, 2010 at 12.48

    Amy it’s just spectacular, I’d love to see it for real!

  7. 8 Charlotte Hupfield Ceramics July 16, 2010 at 12.48

    wow its amazing, I love it! Such a striking and bold piece. I wish I lived closer to have a closer look.

  8. 9 Sam August 6, 2010 at 12.48

    It’s beautiful and what a wonderful idea – the sculpture trail. Wish I lived there! I might have to find some friends to visit 😉

    Sam x


Leave a Reply

I am a stained glass artist working in Exeter and a busy mum of 2; trying to carve a path through the tide of washing and children's toys that stands between me and making beautiful things.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Folksy

Etsy mini store

Flickr Photos

Crocheted Squid

green man roundel

fused recycled glass slab with fern painted detail

burst of spring

Jewel Coloured Nautilus_fused glass_bathroom_window

Cemetry Lodge outside

arch window with red tree

mountain sunrise study view

Wishing tree after 3 weeks

Torquay wishing tree sculpture

More Photos

Twitter Updates

Bottle Top Rock Pools

small recycled stained glass heart

Large recycled stained glass hearts

Mixed Media Mosaics using waste glass and old costume jewelery

boats in the harbor

Moroccan Panel

Brays Torr from the River lydd

art deco fish

paperblog

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

