A special commemorative piece

I have just finished a very special piece for a family who have had to cope with the horrible loss of 4 babies. If I am honest I found it quite hard to get started on the panel as I am a mother myself and the reality of such loss is quite overwhelming. However, meeting the clients to discuss the options really helped and I hope they are pleased with the finished design. 

The brief was to incorporate the children’s names and the motifs of tear drops and butterflies. The clients chose the glass and we tried to incorporate the children’s birth stone colours.

I decided on a free flowing shape edged with bubbles and with a sense of movement. The clients decided on a flow of stars and butterflies running through the panel and they love colour (I understand their house is very colourful and original!)

Firstly I cut the glass, then painted the design, I initially wanted the paint work to be subtle but it was getting lost in the streaky cathedral glass so I went for strong, simple lines so the design would work at a distance. Once fired I leaded up the panel, as I didn’t use the traditional right angle straight line template I had to use a lot of nails and a bit of ingenuity to create the shape.

I really hope that the family like the piece and that it honours the memory of the children and helps them move into the future.

Happily the family includes children who are very much alive and well and doing their bit for charity; have a look here if you would like to help him raise money for charity www.justgiving.com/Charlie-Millard

Please excuse my photographs, my camera seems to be loosing the ability to focus!     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “A special commemorative piece”


  1. 1 Susan Janiszewski July 13, 2011 at 12.48

    That is really beautiful, love the lines and colours. It must have been hard for you to make, but what a lovely keepsake for the family! A lovely use of your talent .

  2. 2 amyorangejuice July 14, 2011 at 12.48

    Thank you Susan, I hope they like it (they haven’t seen it yet) x

  3. 3 Magpie July 14, 2011 at 12.48

    What a beautiful piece of work … and such a heartbreaking story – I don’t know how I’d cope with such a terrible tragedy.


Leave a Reply

I am a stained glass artist working in Exeter and a busy mum of 2; trying to carve a path through the tide of washing and children's toys that stands between me and making beautiful things.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Folksy

Etsy mini store

Flickr Photos

Crocheted Squid

green man roundel

fused recycled glass slab with fern painted detail

burst of spring

Jewel Coloured Nautilus_fused glass_bathroom_window

Cemetry Lodge outside

arch window with red tree

mountain sunrise study view

Wishing tree after 3 weeks

Torquay wishing tree sculpture

More Photos

Twitter Updates

  • Delighted to announce that A World Without won the Public Vote Award University of Exeter Observatory Exhibition... fb.me/3JnB8J9EY 3 days ago
  • My side project TRAIL is looking great for 2017. Come and find our amazing sculpture trail on Teignmouth Seafront! fb.me/7I5ZFC1qb 5 days ago

Bottle Top Rock Pools

small recycled stained glass heart

Large recycled stained glass hearts

Mixed Media Mosaics using waste glass and old costume jewelery

boats in the harbor

Moroccan Panel

Brays Torr from the River lydd

art deco fish

paperblog

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

