My house is full of milk cartons…….but I have finished my boat


I have 310 2 ltr milk cartons stuck together in groups of 3 wide and 5 long and I have stuck together the tricky bits of the letter K and M for my milk sculpture. There are literally bottles everywhere and if you try and move them before the glue is totally dry they fall apart, its a nightmare! But I have made good headway, I have made all the parts of the letters and tomorrow I will stick all the parts of the letters together. I then need to spray paint them and fashion a cow head and tail out of the remaining few milk cartons………..I have till the 27th July and it looks like it is going up in the Taunton Branch of Morrisons,  I know nothing more!

Really got down to work this week and in every available second I was sticking glass on my boat sculpture, grouting it and then doing it all again to the sails. Its a large structure and it took bloomin ages! But I think it is going to look fab. I now just need to make the kaleidoscope that you look through to have a fun view of the boat, mmmmmmmmmmm it has to be installed by Saturday this week, better get on with it. Oh, and you cant see the whole thing till it goes up at the weekend, on the left is the sails being  under way and me  grouting the bath tub.

5 Responses to “My house is full of milk cartons…….but I have finished my boat”


  1. 1 thesockgarden July 12, 2010 at 12.48

    Oh lovely Amy you are truly mad for a challenge! You must be buying glue en masse for those bottles. My 8yr old nephew would love to come to your house & help with the sculpture – not sure you’d feel the same way though! Can’t wait to see the finished boat – the mini pics look awesome. Clever lady! x

  2. 2 amyorangejuice July 13, 2010 at 12.48

    Yes I have the help of a 4 and 1 year old who have just helpfully ripped apart the tricky middle bit of the M 😦

  3. 3 Lisa Hafey July 13, 2010 at 12.48

    What lovely fun you seem to be having! I can understand the difficulties working around a four year old and a one year old – I’m sure my kids wouuld be just as “helpful”…!

  4. 4 averilpam July 13, 2010 at 12.48

    What lovely helpful children! The boat is looking good, what we can see of it so far. Good luck with the cow’s head…..

  5. 5 ilovedolly July 13, 2010 at 12.48

    good luck can’t wait to see end productxx


Leave a comment




I am a stained glass artist working in Exeter and a busy mum of 2; trying to carve a path through the tide of washing and children's toys that stands between me and making beautiful things.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other subscribers
Folksy

Etsy mini store

Flickr Photos

Bottle Top Rock Pools

small recycled stained glass heart

Large recycled stained glass hearts

Mixed Media Mosaics using waste glass and old costume jewelery

boats in the harbor

Moroccan Panel

Brays Torr from the River lydd

art deco fish

paperblog

July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031